Skip to Navigation

Tarrawatta Stages, our newest SARC round


The Walkerville All Cars Club presents the Tarrawatta Stages, Round 1 of the 2008 South Australian Rally Championship.

Held on the ANZAC day long weekend, April 25-27th, this exciting new event will be based around Murray Bridge, only 45 minutes East of Adelaide on the banks of the Murray River.

The fully pace-noted event will start from the Murray Bridge Racing Club and comprises of 8 Special Stages totaling over 120km of competitive driving.

The challenging terrain features some of the best rally roads in the state with traditional fast flowing SA stages mixed with the tight and crest-filled roads of the surrounding Bremer Valley.

Indeed the event name 'the Tarrawatta Stages – "Rally of Steep rising country"' comes from the language of the local PeramAngk Tribe:
"Tarra" – land that rises up, a steep hill or ridge;
"Watta" – a persons land or country.

This area has not been used for motorsport for many years and will provide a fresh challenge to the local and interstate crews competing in the event.

Reconnaissance will be conducted on Friday the 25th of April (ANZAC Day) and the rally held on the Saturday the 26th starting at about 0900hrs and finishing around 1700hrs.

An innovative feature of this event is a proposed "Challenge of the Champions".  With invitation’s extended to the countries best state level 4WD & 2WD/Classic competitors, the challenge will hopefully become a regular event on the Australian rally calendar showcasing the talent of the nation’s top state level competitors. Awards and assistance packages are currently being finalised.

As experienced competitors themselves, the organisers are pulling out all stops to make this event a highlight of the 2008 rally season and as user-friendly as possible for all involved.

So come along and start your competition year off with a rush through the Bremer Valley and surrounding hills and enjoy the hospitality of the Rural City of Murray Bridge.